Homemade Chili Bread

Chili Bread

image

Yields: 1 pound loaf

Cook Time 3 hours

7/8 cup beer
1/4 teaspoon ground cayenne pepper
1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 1/4 cups bread flour
1/8 teaspoon ground cumin
1 tablespoon dried minced onion (or 1/4 ts onion powder)
1 teaspoon chili powder
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons active dry yeast

Put all ingredients in the bread machine and set at White Bread or French Bread. Serve with butter and chili soup.

Non-bread machine way (thanks to one reviewer on the original recipe website):

I made the following changes and was able to make it without a bread baker. I used 2.5 tsp of dry active yeast which I proofed in 2 oz of warm water – 110 degrees (I just run my faucet at the hottest for a minute to get the right temperature)for about 6 minutes until the yeast blooms. I then weigh my flour (9.55 oz). I add all the spices although I reduced the onion to 1/2 T, 5 oz of beer and 2 T of regular olive oil. I knead it in my mixer using the dough hook for 6 min. I let it rise in a warm place for 1 hour, I then roll it out to 8.5 by 5 inch rectangle and roll it up from the long side, put in 8.5 by 4 inh loaf pan, let it rise another hour and then bake at 400 for 30 minutes

In the original recipe I took out the bouillon and substituted the red pepper flakes. Original recipe: http://m.allrecipes.com/recipe/7056/chili-bread

Leave a Reply

